An Cuman LúthChleas Gael Dun Guairne

Dungourney GAA held its AGM on Friday 5th December at Clonmult Old School. There was a turnout of over sixty members. Secretary John Kenneally gave a comprehensive report on the past season’s activities. The Junior A Hurling team were under new management for the 2014 season and their league form continued well. We topped our group and qualified for the playoff stages, Lisgoold were our opponents in the semi-final who we defeated to progress to Avondhu/Imokilly league final with Newtownshandrum. We won the final on a score line of 1-17 to 1-15.

In the Junior A Championship first round we defeated Lisgoold at Carrigtwohill, Carrig na BhFear were our opponents in the quarter final. This game ended in a draw, for the replay we were missing Jack Griffin and Kevin Rohan through injury. We lost by a single point and our championship was over for another year.

The Junior B Team had a weak league campaign resulting in relegation to division 3 of the hurling league for 2015. In the Championship we lost the first round to Carrig na BhFear and our second chance to Ballinacurra.

In Under 21 Hurling we were in the A grade section again this year. Our opening match was with a fancied Midleton side at Castlemartyr. We struggled in the opening thirty minutes but following the break we dominated the second period to run out worthy winners. In the semi-final we played Castlelyons, though hampered by injuries we lost out on a score line of 2-20 to 1-14. Our future looks bright.

Junior A Football League we played eight games, winning four, one draw and three losses. In the first round of Championship we lost to Carrigtwohill, however we regrouped to defeat Lisgoold, Glenville and Midleton to reach the semi-final. Carrig were our opponents once more but the result was the same. Overall this was a good year for our footballers reaching our first ever A Football Semi-Final.

Under 21 Football we lost our first round to Carrig na bhFear and our second chance to Carrigtwohill. Most of this team will be available again next year.

The club would like to thank our title sponsors, East Cork Crane Hire and Rigney Bros for their continued support, also John Hurley’s Super Value and Irish Distillers. As a result of our win in the Avondhu/Imokilly League we are one of six clubs to benefit from a draw for two cars and twenty eight prizes of E250. The club members are  selling tickets for this at present.

Club Development Plan: At last year’s AGM it was decided to draw up a development plan for the club over the next five years. Following a number of meetings and a work shop this plan was launched at the East Cork Golf Club in October, exciting times ahead.

Scorn na bpaiste held their qualifying rounds recently in Dungourney National School, the winners now go on to the finals in Lisgoold.

Scor Sinsear participation in this competition over the years has been disappointing; if anybody has ideas or wants to get involved in this aspect of the Club they are more than welcome.

Kiltha Og.Our juvenile club is amalgamated with our neighbours Castlemartyr and they play under the Kiltha Og banner. They continue to be successful catering for teams in both hurling and football, from U-8’s to Minor.

Congratulations to Castlemartyr on their successes during the 2014 season, good luck at Intermediate Hurling in 2015.

Deceased Members. The Club would like to express its deepest condolences to all within the club who lost loved ones in 2014. May they rest in peace.

Officers of the Executive Committee for 2015

Chairman: Christy Fitzpatrick

Secretary: John Kenneally, Assistant Secretary: Ber Motherway.

Treasurer: Lily Hegarty, Assistant Treasurer: Chris O’Sullivan.

P.R.O.: Tim O’Sullivan.

Registar: Denis Buckner.

Lotto Officer: Bob Condon, Breda Condon.

Player Injury Scheme Officer: Mark Hegarty.

A.S.A.P.: Michael Hickey.

Irish and Cultural: James Leahy.

Children’s Officer: James Leahy.

Committee Nomination’s: Jim O’Callaghan, Paul Kelleher, Martin Leahy, Alan Kelleher, Brendan Hegarty, Martin Wall, Aidan Flynn, Michael Griffin, Liam Flynn, Brian Rodgers, Mary Rohan, Paddy Cullinane, Dave Smiddy, Colm Griffin.

Delegate to East Cork Board: Donal Ahern.

Delegates to County Board: Denis Buckner, Maurice Ahern.

Team Manager’s for 2015

Junior A Hurling: Brian Ronayne

Junior B Hurling: Karl Kiely/Eric Kenneally

Junior A Football: Christy Fitzpatrick

U21 A Hurling: Will Daly

U21 B Football: Mark Hegarty

Clonmult Community Event Calendar